An Awesome God – December 15, 2015

Our God is an awesome God, He reigns, from Heaven above,

With wisdom, power and love – our God is an awesome God!” – Rich Mullen

I’ve got that song stuck in my head as I was thinking on this devotional for today.  I’ve sung the words to that song many times, but I don’t think I truly stop to think about them and what they mean as much as I probably should.

I like science.  It fascinates me, and I love hearing about new discoveries in medicine, or new species that have been discovered throughout the world.  Some try to use science to disprove the Bible, but for me science serves to strengthen my faith and affirm what the Bible says is true.

Have you ever looked at plant cells under a microscope, perhaps in a biology class or with one of those microscopes that come with those science kits that some of us got for Christmas as kids?  When you see how orderly they are, and arranged in neat little rows, it is astounding to think about the One who created them like that, and impossible to believe that the plant just evolved from nothing.

In 2 Samuel Chapter 7, God tells David that He has different plans than the ones David originally had, where David wanted to build Him a house.  Nevertheless, He is pleased with the thought because He knew that David’s heart was in the right place.  So the Lord promised David that He would make him a house, and foreshadowed Jesus’ coming kingdom after the lineage of David.  David then prayed a prayer of thanksgiving to the Lord and said, “Who am I, O Lord God?  And what is my house, that You have brought me this far? (2 Samuel 7:18 NKJV).”

How many times can we say the same thing along with David?  “Who am I, Lord?  That you have brought me and my house this far?”  When you think about all that God has brought you through, and the many ways that He has worked in your life in ways that are personal to you, does it not bring about a sense of awe and wonder?  I can look back at many times in my life where things didn’t look good, the future looked bleak, and I just knew there would be no way I was going to get out of the mess I was in, and yet God showed up.  Over and over.  It’s humbling to think that out of everything and everyone in the universe, He loves you and I so much that even our little worries and cares are important to Him, and He wants to help us.

In the Psalms, David writes in Chapter 8, “When I consider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers, The moon and the stars, which You have ordained, What is man that you are mindful of him? And the son of man that You visit him?  For You have made him a little lower than the angels, and You have crowned him with glory and honor (vv 3-5).”

It’s breathtaking to think about how little we are in the scheme of things.  Have you ever stood along the beach at night and gazed up at the moon?  I don’t live close to an ocean, but the beach is one of my favorite places to go on a summer vacation.  Standing by the vast, expansive shoreline amid the rushing sound of wave upon wave, and seeing a big, gigantic moon in the sky is both peaceful and humbling.  It reminds me how small I am in comparison.  Yet, when I think that you and I were (and are) important enough to God for Jesus to die for us, now that is awe-inspiring!

Luke 12:6-7 says, “Are not five sparrows sold for two copper coins?  And not one of them is forgotten before God.  But the very hairs of your head are all numbered.  Do not fear therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.”

Our God is so big, and so vast, and so creative that He has made things and species of things that we haven’t even discovered yet, but this mighty God cares about even a sparrow, and tells us that we don’t have to be afraid or ever think that He’s forgotten us, because He cares about us infinitely more.

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.  For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved (John 3:16-17).”

The most amazing thing of all is that God, in His vastness, chose to make Himself small, and come down to us in the form of a human, His Son Jesus Christ, to pay for our sins once and for all so that we could be saved and forgiven.  Our Creator endured that agony and laid down His life for His human creation before He rose again and ascended back up to His throne where “He reigns from Heaven above, with wisdom, power and love.”  Our God is an awesome God indeed!

“Thank You, Father, for who You are.  When I think about the vastness of the sky, the stars, the universe, and galaxies we’ve not even found yet, I am amazed and awed that You who created all of that cares about me, and about all of us.  Help me to learn from You with a humble heart, and to offer my life – my time, my energy, my heart and all that life consists of, to You in worship.  Thank You so much for Jesus and His great love and sacrifice so that we could all be forgiven.  I thank You that because He lives, Father, we too can have everlasting life.  I pray that everyone would know about His precious gift, Lord, and I pray that we may give You praise each and every day for Your mighty power, and just for how wonderful You are.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

